Skip to Content

Announcing the Jury Awards for the 2022 San Diego Asian Film Festival

November 6, 2022

We are pleased to announce the winners of 2022 San Diego Asian Film Festival, presented at the festival awards ceremony on Nov. 5. Winners were announced in multiple categories, along with the Grand Jury Prize (the top prize of the Asian American film competition) and a Special Jury Mention. Additionally, the SDAFF programming team selected the George C. Lin Emerging Filmmaker Award given to a first-time feature filmmaker.

Asian American Film Competition

Jurors: Roddy Bogawa, Bedatri D. Choudhury, Masashi Niwano, Mila Zuo

Grand Jury Prize: Wisdom Gone Wild, directed by Rea Tajiri

Best Documentary Feature: Bad Axe, directed by David Siev

Best Narrative Feature: Riceboy Sleeps, directed by Anthony Shim

Best Experimental Film: Declarations of Love, directed by Tiff Rekem

Best Documentary Short: In Loving Memory (of Who We Used to Be), directed by Vicky Lee

Best Narrative Short: Last Hawaiian Sugar, directed by Déjà Cresencia Bernhardt

Special Jury Mention: Lucky Fish, directed by Emily May Jampel

International Short Film Competition

Jurors: Victor Fan, Joel Shepard, Doris Yeung

Best International Short: Will You Look at Me, directed by Shuli Huang

George C. Lin Emerging Filmmaker Award

Winner: So Yun Um, director of Liquor Store Dreams

Bios of jurors in each competition can be found here.

The final award of the festival, the audience award, will be announced at the conclusion of the film festival.

More News